WCS Trustees & Senior Management

Board of Trustees

"WCS is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of men and women distinguished by their leadership in a wide range of professions and sharing a passionate commitment to conservation. The Board is collectively responsible for overseeing the welfare of WCS and the pursuit of its charitable mission. We carry out our oversight and governance role guided by WCS's Core Values–Integrity, Respect, Accountability, Innovation, Diversity, and Collaboration."

Antonia M. Grumbach, Chair of the Board

Board Officers

Antonia M. Grumbach
Chair of the Board

Gordon E. Dyal

Jonathan D. Green
Alejandro Santo Domingo
Vice Chairs of the Board

Frederick W. Beinecke

Elected Trustees

Frederick W. Beinecke

Rosina M. Bierbaum

C. Diane Christensen

Wellington J. Denahan

Katherine L. Dolan

Gordon E. Dyal

Thomas J. Edelman

Christopher J. Elliman

Thomas Dan Friedkin

Bradley L. Goldberg

Paul A. Gould

Jonathan D. Green

Antonia M. Grumbach

Judith H. Hamilton

Brian J. Heidtke

John N. Irwin III

Hamilton E. James

Ambrose K. Monell

Adebayo O. Ogunlesi

Alejandro Santo Domingo

David B. Schiff

Walter C. Sedgwick

Katherine Sherrill

Caroline N. Sidnam

Andrew H. Tisch

Roselinde Torres

Ward W. Woods
Chair Emeritus

Ex Officio Trustees

Bill de Blasio
Mayor of the City of New York

Scott Stringer
Comptroller of the City of New York

Melissa Mark-Viverito
Speaker, New York City Council

Mitchell Silver
Commissioner, Dept. of Parks
and Recreation, City of New York

Tom Finkelpearl
Commissioner, Dept. of Cultural Affairs,
City of New York

Rubén Díaz Jr.
President, Borough of the Bronx

Eric Adams
President, Borough of Brooklyn

Cristián Samper, PhD
President and Chief Executive Officer,
Wildlife Conservation Society

Life Trustees

Robert G. Goelet

Howard Phipps, Jr.
Chair Emeritus

Julian H. Robertson, Jr.

David T Schiff
Chair Emeritus

Mrs. Leonard N. Stern

Mrs. Richard B. Tweedy

Barbara Hrbek Zucker

Trustee Emeritus

Eleanor Briggs

Jonathan L. Cohen

WCS Council

The WCS Council brings together a core of WCS supporters to help advance our mission and provide leadership support as we expand our programs and initiatives.

Elizabeth M. Ainslie

Ambassador Barbara Barrett
and Craig Barrett

Todd and Emma Goergen

Melissa Hawks

Catherine and Blake Holden

Anita L. Keefe

Justin F. Korsant

Patricia and Alan Koval

Larry Linden

Eugene R. McGrath

Ilona Nemeth and Alan Quasha

Alexander T. Robertson

Victoria and Roger Sant

Lyn Silfen

Manoj Singh

Jack Stephenson

Mara Talpins

Pamela M. Thye

WCS Senior Management

"Making good on WCS's ambitious conservation strategy requiresfirst rate leadership throughout the organization. I am proud to work with WCS's highly competent and accomplished leadership team, at the executive level and within each of our divisions. Together we strive to save wildlife and wild places worldwide through science, conservation action, education, and inspiring people to value nature."

Cristián Samper, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer

Cristián Samper, PhD
President and Chief Executive Officer

Robert G. Menzi
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

James J. Breheny
Executive Vice President & General Director, Zoos and Aquarium, and Jonathan Little Cohen Director of the Bronx Zoo

John F. Calvelli
Executive Vice President for Public Affairs

John G. Robinson, PhD
Executive Vice President for Conservation and Science and Joan O. L. Tweedy Chair in Conservation Strategy

Mary A. Dixon
Senior Vice President for Communications

Christopher J. McKenzie, Esq.
Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Deputy Secretary

Laura Stolzenthaler
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

A more complete listing of WCS's worldwide leadership is contained in WCS's Annual Report.

As of October 2015

Stand for Wildlife

Join more than one million wildlife lovers working to save the Earth's most treasured and threatened species. (Oh, and get a free sticker.)

Stand for Wildlife

Join a community of over one million people helping protect the wildlife and places we love.

Get notified about crucial issues, WCS's work, and ways you can help!


Huge opportunity: Help secure twice the resources to keep endangered species safe by protecting the wild places they call home.

Donate before April 22 and your gift will go 2x as far!